Ceremony on 6 December 2023 at The Hilton, Park Lane, London,

Congratulations to the winners of the Optician Awards 2021!

Contact Lens Practice of the Year

Winner: Andrew & Rogers Optometrists

The judges said the winning practice had really thought about their patients’ contact lens journey and the practice offered a wide range of lenses backed by considerable knowledge.

Highly commended:

Specsavers Cramlington
Specsavers Keighley
Vision Express Sunderland Roker

Enhanced Optical Service Award

Winner: Probert & Williams Eye Care

The judges commented on the excellence showed throughout this category. The winner offered enhanced and adapted services throughout lockdown, has close hospital links and offers improved accessibility for patients.

Highly commended:

Cardiff and Vale Health Board 
Parley Optometrists
Rifkind and Brophy Optometrists
Specsavers Swansea

Fashion Practice of the Year

Winner: Rae & Rae Opticians

The winner was applauded by the judges for its bold approach.

The judges also wanted to make a special mention of last year’s winner, Park Vision, who ran Rae & Rae a very close second.

Highly commended:

Andrew & Rogers Optometrists
Mika & Me
Observatory The Opticians
Park Vision
Style Optique

Social Media Practice of the Year

Winner: Urquhart Opticians

The judges praised the winner for a clear strategy, great ideas with strong community engagement using a variety of platforms.

Highly commended:

Bowen Opticians
Miller and McClure Opticians
Samantha Hague Optometry
Station Road Opticians

Technology Practice of the Year

Winner: Martin Smith Opticians

All great practices said the judges but one stood out for its successful patient management and exemplary action as an ambassador for modern optometry.

Highly commended:

Parley Optometrists
Radlett Opticians
Safarian and Simon Opticians
Samantha Hague Optometry

Multiple Practice of the Year

Winner: Specsavers Sutton-in-Ashfield

The judges thought that this business truly understands how to scale successfully. They appear to have strength in all areas of the practices and clearly a brilliantly led and engaged team.

Highly commended:

Boots Opticians New Milton
Specsavers Bicester
Specsavers Opticians Oakham

Independent Practice of the Year

Winner: Park Vision

A hugely impressive line up of practices but only one can win. The judges picked the winner for its focus on introducing innovative products, strong clinical offering, use of social media and ambitious plans.

Highly commended:

Barnham Opticians
Davies and Jones Optometrists
Rifkind and Brophy Optometrists
Samantha Hague Optometry
Tompkins Knight and Son Optometrists
Webb, Lucas & Stubbs Optometrists

Lens Supplier of the Year ***NEW***

Winner: HOYA Lens UK

All familiar names but the judges chose the winner for its excellent active collaboration with independent opticians, support and product innovation.

Highly commended:

Carl Zeiss Vision UK
Jai Kudo Lenses

Frame Supplier of the Year ***NEW***

Winner: Millmead Optical Group

The judges praised the winner for strong customer service during the pandemic.

Highly commended:

Cambridge Spectacle Company

Contact Lens Supplier of the Year ***NEW***

Winner: Menicon Limited

All giants of the industry making huge efforts but the judges chose a winner that ticked all of those boxes and showed unstinting support for people outside and inside the business.

Highly commended:

Bausch + Lomb UK
Johnson & Johnson Vision

Optical Supplier of the Year

Winner: Positive Impact

Lots of positive comments for all of the finalists. But for its pro activity, service and innovation, the judges chose Positive Impact

Highly commended:

Eyewear Styling Academy
Millmead Optical Group
Morris & Co specialist ophthalmic accountants
Practice Building
Spec-Care Ltd

Technology Supplier of the Year ***NEW***

Winner: Spec-Care

Some quite different businesses in our shortlist. The winner, Spec-Care, was chosen as the judges felt that they put a particular focus on the patient.

Highly commended:

Advanced Ophthalmic Systems
Heidelberg Engineering
Locumotive app
Mainline Instruments

Sustainability Award ***NEW***

Winner: Eyespace

The judges chose a winner that has truly embraced sustainability for the long term with commitment starting at board level and running through the company.

Highly commended:

Bird Eyewear
Millmead Optical Group

Contact Lens Practitioner of the Year

Winner: Iain Johnson, Johnson and Leatherbarrow Opticians

All three finalists were applauded by the judges, but they opted for an outstanding entry that matched the criteria almost without fault.

Highly commended:

Jon Whittle, Sheffield Children's NHS Foundation Trust
Bhavin Shah, Central Vision Opticians

Dispensing Optician of the Year

Winner: Kim Walker, Allegro Optical

The judges chose a winner who demonstrated extremely high caliber work and went above and beyond for patients.

Highly commended:

Georgia Rae, Rae & Rae Opticians
Richard Spencer, David Burghardt Vision Care
Zoe Witham, Style Optique

Optometrist of the Year

Winner: Dr Rohit Narayan, Anstee & Proctor

The judges chose a winner whose approach they described as holistic and one which, they believe, will become a blueprint for eyecare in the future.

Highly commended:

Robert Longhurst, Robert Longhurst Optometrist 
Ceri Probert, Probert & Williams Eye Care
Rebecca Rietdyke, Johnson and Leatherbarrow Opticians
Nizz Sabir, Sutherland Opticians

Optical Assistant Team of the Year

Winner: Barnham Opticians

The winner is a practice described by the judges as one with a brilliant overall approach with a sense of true integration within its community.

Highly commended:

Andrew & Rogers Optometrists
Boots Opticians New Milton
David Burghardt Vision Care
Specsavers Bicester

COVID Heroes Award ***NEW***

Winner: Individual Award- Paul Ratcliffe, Outside Clinic, Team Award- Specsavers Northampton

Individual Award- Paul Ratcliffe, Outside Clinic
The winner of this award was said by the judges to be totally selfless, going above and beyond and a credit to the profession.

Team Award- Specsavers Northampton
Again a tough call for the judges. It was the personal sacrifice for others that lead the judges to their decision with vulnerable staff continuing to work, sharing personal mobile numbers and moving out of their homes so they could provide the eye care patients needed.

Highly commended:
Individual Award Finalists

Jayne Abel, Eyespace
Raj Gill, Specsavers Keighley
Stephanie Littlewood, Wessex Optical
Joshua Smith, Sheffield NHS
Drew Thompson, Thompson & Hardwick Optometrists

Team Award Finalists

Aristone Optical
Bayfields Opticians and Audiologists, Harrogate
Nixon & Shaw Opticians
Optimum Vision Clinic
St Paul’s Optometry Department, Liverpool
Specsavers Porthcawl